Angel Food Cake

Yesterday, with a little time off the sunshine calling my name, all work tasks done for the day, what do I do? Grab a surf board to go surfing or walk to the beach and enjoy the sunset. Instead the baker in me decides to make an “Angel Food Cake.” It’s been a while since I made one of those fluffy egg whites-calling my name. Besides, since I had plenty of fresh strawberries on hand and whip cream, they would make a marriage made in heaven.

My recipe comes out of Nick Malgieri’s “Perfect Cookies, Cakes,and Chocolate.” I happen to love his recipes ! pink-macaroon-batter-300x225

Now what kind of baker would I be if I did not put a spin of my own on my beloved creation? So, I added some lemon zest. The recipe does call for the juice of a whole lemon as far as my result; if you prefer cream of tartar but I did say so myself that the lemon juice did work to do their job to stabilize the egg whites as much as it did to add the most delicate of flavors as Nick would say! Angel Food Cake

There is something about whipping egg whites that makes me recall culinary school as my teacher Chef stood watching over my shoulder saying, “Now, now be careful not to get any egg yolks mixed in the whites.” I turned on the machine and crossed my fingers. His gleam and shimmering smile told me I was out of the woods. As I noticed hell breaking loose around me, a crying student or two stood by the sink tossing their precious egg whites down the drain.

What is that you say? “How can egg whites be so difficult to master?” chick1.gif

As I removed the Food of Angels out the oven and turned on the television what to my bewilderment do I see? “Alton Brown” on the Food Network talking about science of egg whites. I often believe the Food Network may have a crystal ball into my kitchen because the other day while making scones guess who was also making scones, scones, scones. But, well that is another story.

Happy Baking,
Chef Diana


Related Links::http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/angel-food-cake-recipe/index.html

Leave a comment